LSBU Library: Computer Science and Informatics: Theses, Statistics and Grey Literature

Theses and Dissertations

Theses and Dissertations

If you want to find an exemplar dissertation or thesis for your LSBU course contact your School Admin office.

Many universities around the world make their theses and dissertations available online. If you Google the name of the institution and repository or theses you might get lucky!

Research Open (LSBU)

LSBU's repository

Here you can find:

journal articles, book chapters and research by LSBU staff
theses and dissertations by LSBU students

The British Library (EthOS)

Search the British Library's database of over 500,000 doctoral theses.

Search here

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

Search across hundreds of universities across the world for dissertations and theses.

Search here

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Search here

Grey Literature

What is grey literature?

Grey literature refers to research that is either unpublished or has been published in non-commercial form. It can include:

Government documents
Policy statements
Working papers
Theses
Conference proceedings
Statistics
White papers
Industry and business reports

Grey literature can be a good source of raw data (statistics). It is likely to be more sector or industry focused rather than academic, and can be used effectively in conjunction with academic sources. It is often international, open access, and freely available.

Conference proceedings

Add "conference proceedings" or "conference papers" to your search in these databases to bring back conference materials.

Subscription databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database with more than 8,500 full text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.

Academic Search Complete has an extensive catalogue of conferences from around the world.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Please note this resource is not compatible with Internet Explorer 11. Full text of IEEE and IEE Journals & Conference Proceedings, as well as IEEE Standards, Transactions, Magazines and Letters
Alternative Access
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/servlet/wayf.jsp?entityId=https://shibboleth.lsbu.ac.uk/shibboleth&url=http%3A%2F%2Fieeexplore.ieee.org%2FXplore%2Fhome.jsp

Covers technical, computer and management conference proceedings.

Free Databases

BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Advanced Search allows you to search for specific types of grey literature, such as reports, conference materials, reviews etc.
Google Scholar
Useful for government and university reports, conference proceedings, patents.
Open Grey
Provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
Provides access to conference papers, preprint articles, research networks

Government

The following resources provide information produced by the UK government and its agencies.

Once you click on the link search for the topic you are interested in eg. social media.

Department for International Development

Statistics

CIA World Factbook
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Human Development Report Office's Library
These reports provide statistics on economic development and the quality of life around the world.
Joseph Rowntree Foundation
Statistics on UK poverty.
UK Data Archive
The UK Data Archive is curator of the largest collection of digital data in the social sciences and humanities in the UK. With several thousand data collections, our Archive is a vital resource for researchers, teachers and learners.
UNESCO Sustainable Goals
Indicators of the Sustainable Goals laid out by the UN.
World Development Indicators
Statistics and reports from the World Bank.
World Health Organisation
Data and statistics on global health from WHO

Statista Statistics

UK Data Service; Economic & Social Data Service International

UK Data Service; Economic & Social Data Service International
Includes major UK government-sponsored surveys, cross-national surveys, longitudinal studies, UK census data, international aggregate, business data, and qualitative data.