LSBU Library: Construction: Theses, Statistics and Grey Literature

Conference Proceedings

Finding Grey Literature in Subscription Databases

Add "conference proceedings" or "conference papers" to your search in these databases to bring back conference materials.

Subscription Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary research database, offering access to thousands of full-text scholarly, peer-reviewed journals, periodicals, reports, and books across various fields of study.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Full text of IEEE and IEE journals and conference proceedings, as well as IEEE standards, transactions, magazines and letters.

Alternative Access
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/servlet/wayf.jsp?entityId=https://shibboleth.lsbu.ac.uk/shibboleth&url=http%3A%2F%2Fieeexplore.ieee.org%2FXplore%2Fhome.jsp
SCOPUS
Scopus is a comprehensive database that indexes millions of peer-reviewed journal articles helping students find reliable academic sources across 330 disciplines.

Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

Search across hundreds of universities across the world for dissertations and theses.

Search here

Government

The following resources provide information produced by the UK government and its agencies.

Once you click on the link search for the topic you are interested in e.g. social media.

DART-Europe E-theses Portal

DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses.

Search here

The British Library (EthOS)

Search the British Library's database of over 500,000 doctoral theses.

Search here

Free Databases

BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Advanced Search allows you to search for specific types of grey literature, such as reports, conference materials, reviews etc.
Google Scholar
Useful for government and university reports, conference proceedings, patents.
Open Grey
Provides open access to 700.000 bibliographical references of grey literature produced in Europe

Research Open

LSBU's Repository

Here you can find:

journal articles, book chapters and research by LSBU staff
theses and dissertations by LSBU students

LSBU dissertation finder

We have a selection of dissertations written by LSBU students available here.

Search by title (key words), surname of author or course.

Theses

EThOS
British Library's open-access UK theses.
LSBU Research Open
Repository of internationally recognised and world-leading research generated by LSBU Faculty and students.

Google Scholar

To access articles in Google scholar at home you can add in the library's subscriptions:

Click Search above to open a new window
Go to the 3 bar icon in the upper left corner
Select the cog wheel to open Settings
Select Library links from the left hand column
Search for London South Bank University - Full-Text @ LSBU
Tick the box to add our collections in to the search

You computer will remember this choice until you clear your cookies/cache. You do not need to do this step if you are on campus.

Google Scholar Visual Guide