Skip to Main Content

Civil Engineering: Specialist Databases

Databases

British Standards Online This link opens in a new window
Database contains all current British Standards in full text.
Also includes IET Wiring Regulations
https://bsol-bsigroup-com.lsbu.idm.oclc.org/Search/Search?facets=ModuleCode_GBM81&OriginPage=My+modules

You will need the BSI Plug-in to download. Choose Download FileOpen Exe Installer [996] (recommended).
When you download a British Standard, save it to a folder, then open it from there. (Opening the file immediately without saving it to a folder will give an error message.)

Please refer to the BSI Plug-in Guide as necessary.
Alternative Access
https://federation.bsigroup.com/start-session?entityID=https://shibboleth.lsbu.ac.uk/shibboleth
Technical Indexes: Construction Information Service (IHS) This link opens in a new window
British Standards relating to Construction can now be found on British Standards Online

This resource requires personal registration on first use. Log in with LSBU login to see activation link needed to register https://library.lsbu.ac.uk/eresourcespws/bea

Complete documents from over 150 issuing bodies essential to the design and construction of buildings, including legal data, setting out, structural tolerances and product information. Where possible, all documents cited in the Building Regulations have been included.
Alternative Access
https://www.ihssso.com/Shibboleth.sso/Login?entityID=https://shibboleth.lsbu.ac.uk/shibboleth&target=https://www.ihssso.com/ukplc

AUTODESK - Free Software Downloads

Autodesk - Free Software
Download AutoCAD, Revit and many more.

AutoCAD Tutorial

LinkedIn Learning AutoCAD training videos

Revit Tutorial

Linkedin Learning Revit training videos

IBISWorld

IBISWorld
IBISWorld's industry report collections provide in-depth industry research for the US, UK, Australia, Europe and beyond.

Maps Online & Geological Information

Digimap This link opens in a new window
Registration required.
Digimap is a Collection of EDINA services that deliver maps and map data of Great Britain to UK tertiary education. Data is available either to download to use with appropriate application software such as GIS or CAD, or as maps generated by Digimap online.
Digimap training video
Boreholes Index: British Geological Survey This link opens in a new window
Search over a million borehole records. The BGS Borehole record viewer offers direct, online access to the National Geoscience Data Centre collection of onshore scanned boreholes, shafts and well records

Doogal - Route Elevation
Allows users to calculate the route between two locations, then calculate the elevation and gradient of the route and display as a graph
Mapometer
Maps running, cycling and walking routes and calculates route distances and elevation profiles
Ordnance Survey
Maps, publications and detailed technical information
Streetmap
Street and road map search

Research Skills

Internet Skills for the Construction Industry
Online tutorial for civil engineering students.

BCIS Online Tutorial - Project Analyses

BCIS Tutorial - Average Prices

BCIS - Presentation

"The Building Cost Information Service and its applicability to commercial archaeology."